Facebook privacy settings change as often as celebrity hairstyles. Because of their changeable nature, Facebook users are often left confused and unprotected. Here are some tips and tricks to help you decode Facebook’s newest privacy settings.

Who Can See Your Posts?

It’s important to know who can see each of your posts. Employers are using Facebook to weed-out inappropriate potential applicants, and your parents are probably browsing your page, too. Being aware of who is looking over your shoulder is wise.

From either the Privacy Shortcuts menu or the Main Settings tab you can access Privacy Settings. Review who can currently see your posts and decide if that makes sense for your current situation.

Limiting Old Posts
When your needs have changed and you want to make your page more secure, it’s time to consider limiting old posts on Facebook. This is easily accomplished, however, it cannot be undone. Make sure you want every old post to be modified to suit your new privacy setting before you change it!

To learn more about limiting old posts before you pull the trigger, click Learn About Changing Old Posts. Facebook has created this guide to help users understand their intricate rules.

Review Your Tags
When your posts are appropriately secure, it’s time to re-think posts friends have tagged you in. Would a potential employer or new girlfriend like seeing you tagged with a beer bong? Probably not. For this reason, it’s smart to review old tags carefully.

If you see something inappropriate, it’s easy enough to remove. Simply click the pencil icon to the right of any post and a drop down menu will offer to delete the post for you. If you do delete a post, it might be smart to inform the friend who tagged you why you are deleting it so that they don’t do it again in the future. Your friends might not be aware that your page is being viewed by your grandma!

Should Search Engines Link to You?
You can control whether or not search engines link to your posts. Click the box if you would like your updates and photos to be linked. However, if you enjoy privacy and don’t want your photos to float freely on Google, Bing and other engines, then leave it unchecked.

Never take Facebook’s word for it, though. If you are concerned about your pictures and posts making it onto search engines, then proceed to the next step. Go to HighSpeedInternetProviders.com to find out what additional security and encryption can be offered by an internet provider to accompany Facebook’s privacy.

Google Search Yourself
Go to each major search engine and type in your name as it appears on Facebook with the word ‘Facebook’ and click search. This should pull up any posts that are still showing up in engines. Remember that it could take a few weeks for these to clear out after you have un-checked the privacy box on Facebook.

Review your Facebook privacy settings frequently, as they change often. People have been surprised before by the ramifications of Facebook changes: make sure you are not one of them.

Image Courtesy of jkdksh

4 COMMENTS

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.